When Opportunity Knocks, Don’t Fall Back Asleep…

October 12, 2009 at 5:02 am (Uncategorized)

…at least not until you’ve written everything down first.

I am awake, I have pilfered fruit bars and carbonated caffeine. I am showered, dressed, bleary-eyed, and so not ready for the day.

Sometimes when you wake up at 5am, and you know you don’t have to, and just before you fall back asleep you ponder what it was that woke you up in the first place you don’t question your sanity. You just don’t.

You already know that you’re crazy; writing by the meager bedside lamp light with a fine point permanent marker (because that’s all that you could reach in your scramble to simultaneously hold on to the thoughts in your head and not fall off the bed onto the floor)…

…when you’ve scrambled to get everything down with as much detail as possible before it all is lost…and twenty minutes have gone by, you’re still not done writing and you’re actually debating with yourself on whether or not you should just stay up.

Here’s to hoping that I’ve been woken up at the right time, and made the right choice to seize opportunity instead of going back to bed once the thoughts were immortalized in ink. I wonder, if I had gone back to sleep if I would have been rewarded with more to go on.

I think I did. I have a beginning, two characters that are amazing, a plot (Oh My Gosh!), and the ending. I’m sure I can puzzle out the middle.

Jaeden

2 Comments

  1. Pamela said,

    I almost always pick the other route of falling back asleep. And then I regret it.

  2. Jaeden Knight said,

    I usually do too, but when you're given the first two chapters, two characters, the main conflict, the subplot, and the ending…I didn't want to tempt the sock monkey of fate

Leave a Reply

