NaNoWriMo!

October 31, 2009 at 11:00 pm (nanowrimo 09)

Today is the first day in this strange sort of torture that some of those of us that enjoy writing partake in annually. (Wow, what a sentence!)

This month, hundreds of thousands across the globe attempt to write a novel in 30 days. Not everyone wins. It really isn’t as easy as it sounds. I’ve trunked a lot of would-be good novels writing this way. Sure, I could have taken my time with them and gotten some really amazing novels out of it, but where would be the fun in that?

This year I’m trying something a little different. I’m writing a story that has already been written…many times. When I read this story, I knew right away that I wanted to see it in novel form. I’d never heard of anyone writing this into a novel before, so I vowed that I would be the one to do it. I’m a little wiser now. There are several adaptations of it out, one of which seems to be pretty popular. I’ve never read it, though it is on my list.

I could be setting myself up for a huge failure here, but where is the fun without a little risk? I’ll write the story, and then read East. And why yes, I am thinking of posting the chapters on Gone with the Pen. If you’d like to follow my progress, feel free to. You can see how awesome I am when I win, or a horrible fail and laugh with me when I try and figure out why in my busiest month of the year I’m attempting this.

Jaeden

Leave a Reply

